Tags

, , , , ,

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre was released in 1974 and was directed by Tobe Hooper. The film follows a small group of friends on a road trip who come into contact with a family of cannibals, one of which is widely known now as Leatherface. I continuously go back and forth between this and The Shining for what is my favorite horror film of all time, so really I think they are tied for first.

The first thing I want to point out about this film is just how haunting some of the kills are. The very first kill actually still gives me chills to this day. Leatherface killing Kirk with a hammer is an extremely brutal scene, but very effective in what it set out to do. This scene haunted me for a while when I first saw it at a young age, and now it has become one of my absolute favorite scenes in all of horror. One interesting thing I picked up on is its lack of gore. There are some bloody moments, but not as much as I remember. I think this is one of the advantages to the film that a lot of films don’t have today. The film makes your brain fill in the violence that happens off screen. It’s a great concept that makes the film so memorable. Leatherface doesn’t seem as big as the other three major slasher/horror icons like Michael Myers, Freddy Kruger and Jason, but if it hadn’t have been for Leatherface and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre then we might not have had the other classic slasher flicks we love today. Another great thing about this film is the interesting interpretations that have spawned over the years such as being a commentary of veganism, contemporary American life, and domestic abuse.

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is one of my favorite horror films of all time. The brutality and violence of the film puts it on a different level than just your typical slasher film, there is something surreal about this one. There is a haunting atmosphere that just screams Halloween season. Watch The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, it’s a must have for any fan of horror, and a must see for the Halloween movie marathon!